Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library
DatabasesElectronic Subscriptions
The Library's subscriptions to databases and electronic magazines are like electronic copies of magazines, automotive repair manuals, and genealogical research sources. What used to require searching through indexes and then reels of microfilm or backfiles of magazines can now be done from a computer workstation. In most cases you can access from your own home these electronic resources.
Databases and other resources listed below are available from anywhere you can access the Internet with your library card, except as noted "In Library."
The Library subscribes to this service.
- Academic Search Premier
- Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- ALLDATA Online
- Automotive technical manuals, wiring diagrams, manufacturer alerts. In Library, Available at Chavez, Troke, Tracy, and Manteca
For more on automotive, read the Automotive Resources section.
- Alt Health Watch
- Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Contains periodical articles, pamphlets, book excerpts, original research and more.
- Ancestry Library Edition
- A genealogy database. Quick Tips. In Library
For more on genealogy, read the Genealogy Guide.
- Biography Resource Center
- Read biographies of famous and not-so-famous people.
- Business Source Premier
- Full text of more than 2,300 journals, some going back as far as 1965. Also contains market research reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- California Libraries Catalog
- This search tool provides a single-search entry for libraries throughout California. Find books, maps, audio and video materials at libraries in California. The search includes Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library and search results list first there. To check the status and location of an item look for the details, then follow the
link to item in your library's online catalog.
- Computer Source
- Featuring full text periodicals covering topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet, this database provides a balance of technical journals and consumer computer titles.
- Consumer Health Complete
- Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
- Encyclopedia of Animals
- Thousands of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals. Many entries include images.
- ERIC
- ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
- Film and Television Literature Index
- A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- Learning Express Library
- Practice tests and tutorials for academic and licensing tests. Includes ASVAB, GED, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship, math skills, real estate, civil service tests and more.
- Legal Collection
- Containing full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- LISTA with Full Text indexes hundreds of journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for many journals and monographs. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Literary Reference Center
- Comprehensive database providing information on thousands of authors and their works. Includes material from reference works, literary journals and original content. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews and text of some literary works.
- MAS Ultra: School Edition
- Full text of popular high school magazines, biographies, primary source documents and reference books. Also contains an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Some magazine coverage back to 1975.
- Middle Search Plus
- Contains full text of popular, middle school magazines and thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, the database contains primary source documents and reference books.
- MasterFILE Premier
- Full text of periodical articles, reference books, biographies and source documents in many subjects. Also contains images of maps, flags and photographs.
- Military & Government Collection
- Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 journals.
- NetLibrary eAudiobooks
- Audiobooks that you download to your PC. Over 1,100 titles available--including fiction, non-fiction, light reading, as well as educational items, such as language learning. Supported for use on computers and portable media players that utilize the Microsoft-encrypted format (not Macintosh, not iPods).
- Newspaper Source Plus
- Cover-to-cover full text for almost 150 national & international newspapers and broadcast news sources. Includes The Record (Stockton) and the Sacramento Bee.
- Photofact Online
- Provides technical information for consumer electronic repair for such items as TV's, car radios, VCR's, CB's, tape recorders, and transister radios.
- Points of View Reference Center
- Full text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Contains material from newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
- Primary Search
- Full text of magazines for elementary school students. Also includes Encyclopedia of Animals and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
- Professional Development Collection
- Includes full text for nearly 520 high quality education journals and more than 200 educational reports.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- A comprehensive database containing full text of journals in the areas of emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
- Full text of journals in the field of world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- Social Studies Fact Cards
- Written for students in grades 4 to 8, these cards cover key facts on California, the U.S. and the World. Fourth graders assigned California missions or Indians of California as topics will want to look here.
- TOPICsearch
- Content based on national curriculum standards. Includes full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia.
- Vocational & Career Collection
- Full text of trade journals and industry periodicals.
- Westlaw
- Available: In Library
A comprehensive legal database containing U.S. and California codes, statutes, and cases. Also contains California Jurisprudence (Cal Jur), an encyclopedia of California law.
